National Smoke Day

Our favorite recipies and discussions on all things epicurian, beer, deep-fried goodness, wine, caviar; what fuels YOUR Falcon?

National Smoke Day

Postby Lord_Byron » Sun May 27, 2012 8:23 am

Did anyone do any smoking yesterday? I'm doing a brisket tomorrow, so I passed this year.

This is my first attempt at brisket. I got a flat only(about 7 lbs), not a whole brisket. I'm going to do an overnight "paste rub" and put it on in the morning. Any suggestions on avoiding dry meat would be appreciated. I'll probably leave it on the smoke until it gets to about 150 or so, and then spray and wrap in foil for the remainder of the cook.

I'm concerned about the hot weather tomorrow, since I think the direct sun adds about 100 degrees to the smoker. I'll light fewer coals than usual when I fire up the WSM. I usually use about 18 briquettes to get about 240, so I'll probably go with 12 or 15.

Smokey Mountain National Smoke Day

Smoke Day Map
BG '79

Twitter: @Vapid_Inanities
Lord_Byron
Minister of Silly Walks
Minister of Silly Walks

Re: National Smoke Day

Postby Pete Segaard » Sun May 27, 2012 8:47 am

I didn't know it was National Smoke Day, but I got lucky and put on a fresh picnic and a brisket flat also.
The flat I bought came cryo wrapped and had plenty of fat on it. Both stayed in the smoker for 13 hours and the toes of the flat started to dry out but the thicker portion was just starting to render out well.

I usually don't baste beef in the smoker but it probably would have helped the brisket.
Team Falcon Around
The Falcon formerly known as oaklane2
Pete Segaard
Peregrine
Peregrine

Postby hammb » Tue May 29, 2012 12:22 pm