FalconTurf

Who we are as individuals and what we're all about...

FalconTurf

Postby FalconTurf » Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 pm

I have been browsing this site for several years and decided to add my voice after the negative comments about the Turf at the Doyt surfaced this spring. I see the Turf as the end of an old era and beginning of a new era. My father was there as freshman as they closed University Field and opened the Doyt the following year. That was a great change according to him and I think the SEBO and Field Turf will stimulate more changes to facilites at BG. Hopefully the same growth will occur now that he saw in the second part of the 60's.

My parents, a great aunt (in the early years) and several other relatives in between graduated from BG. I identified with BG from an early age although I watched many TV games from other colleges as a youth. It was BG where I attended games. Now I have a bachelors '93 (that was a long run) and masters '06 in education. The education department wasn't always kind and changes in majors cost me six years I really enjoy my experience at BG largely due to the athletic department.

While at BG I volunteered at women's basketball games scorer's table and sold programs at men's games and hockey games. It gave me the opportunity to see a little more than most people and appreciate what it takes to run the athletics program. Some members of the ath. dept. that have been criticized on here are excellent people who do much more than most of the complainers ever realize.